Three forms of immune myasthenia

Mark A. Agius, David P Richman, Robert H Fairclough, Johan Aarli, Nils Erik Gilhus, Fredrik Romi

Research output: Contribution to journalArticlepeer-review

16 Scopus citations


We propose a new classification for immune myasthenia based on antibody pattern. The types of immune myasthenia presently characterized by known antibody targets segregate into three groups: type 1, in which the muscle target is the acetylcholine receptor only; type 2, in which titin antibodies are present in addition to acetylcholine receptor antibodies; and type 3, in which muscle-specific kinase antibodies are present in the absence of acetyl-choline receptor antibodies. The immune target is unknown in the patients with immune myasthenia not associated with these antibodies. This classification has advantages over the present classifications as regards homogeneity of groups, etiology, mechanism of disease, and prognosis.

Original languageEnglish (US)
Pages (from-to)453-456
Number of pages4
JournalAnnals of the New York Academy of Sciences
StatePublished - 2003


  • Acetylcholine receptor (AChR)
  • Antibody (Ab)
  • Immune myasthenia (IM)
  • Pathogenicity

ASJC Scopus subject areas

  • Biochemistry, Genetics and Molecular Biology(all)


Dive into the research topics of 'Three forms of immune myasthenia'. Together they form a unique fingerprint.

Cite this